Poetry Thursday – Week 7

Poetry in Lyrics

Do you listen to the lyrics when you listen to music?? 

Or do they fly over your head??

That part for many is unimportant. However, if you should try to listen to the lyrics within the music you may find a hidden meaning that you may have “overlooked” while listening.

For this week’s Poetry Thursday, I will be featuring five artistes, from the R&B/Soul genre and Dancehall;

black-curved-arrow-clip-art-8DRLpH-clipart Jill Scott

black-curved-arrow-clip-art-8DRLpH-clipart Joseph “Joe” Thomas

black-curved-arrow-clip-art-8DRLpH-clipart Miguel  Jontel Pimentel

 black-curved-arrow-clip-art-8DRLpH-clipart Earlan “Alkaline” Bartley

black-curved-arrow-clip-art-8DRLpH-clipart Adijah “Vybz Kartel” Palmer

I chose these five because of the way they all speak about intercourse and how they relate to it.  If you read the lyrics you will realize that they are all speaking of the same thing, but all five have their own way of putting it across.  It also shows/highlights how people view this act.

separater

Disclaimer: Some of this weeks poetry in lyrics may be a little risque, but i will try to be as clean as I can be without losing the essence of what is being said.  RATED XXX

separater

Let us begin with Jill Scott

“Cross My Mind”
I was just thinking about you
Wondering if you wear the same cologne
Smelled good
On you
Had the next boyfriend of mine try the same kind
But it stunk on him though.
You know what they say everything ain’t for everybody.
But I tried anyway.
You sure did smell good.
[Chorus:]
You just running cross my mind
[x3]
You had that masculine thing DOWN
Shoulders, back straight never sloping never round
It would turn me on just to see you walk into a room, across the room, out of the room.
You really impressed me.
Eh yeah
[Chorus:]
You just running cross my mind
[x3]
I know if I pick up this phone, write this letter send this two way.
I know I’m gonna say some things, I know you gonna say some things
That we both don’t mean to say
Like…how amazing…how amazing…
When you would spread my limbs cross continents
Bump our bed way over mountains.
Kiss this and this and this and this and this and this and this and this and this and that.
Show each other where the climax is at.
You just running cross my mind
[x3]
I was just thinking about you, wondering what you doing I mean what you’ve been up to
I know its wrong feeling this strong let me take a second minute I will think this thing through
I was just thinking about you, wondering what you doing I mean what you’ve been up to
I know its wrong feeling this strong let me take a second minute I will think this thing through
Remember all the moments for two, how we used to
Oh yeah
But the reality honestly…you where never good for me and I was never good for you.
I just remember what we used to do….

 

“So Gone (What My Mind Says)”
(feat. Paul Wall)
You’re gonna hear the pages turn
Let me take my Gazelles off…
Don’t want this thing, but can’t let go
Even though, I need it so
Your arms they soothe me, but I ain’t no game
I ain’t no toy, I ain’t just brain, this ain’t no movie mane
I’m a real woman, been down this road before
(I just need more) I just need more…
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I try to keep it intact, but I’m here in this bed…
I need to… listen, listen…
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I tried keepin it tight, but I’m here in this bed.
I need to… listen
Emotions deep down inside of me
I’m trying to hide, but they keep finding me
I want to lay low, but continuously you do…
(Uh, uh, uh!) All the right things (damn, damn, damn…)
So sweet to me (Eh, eh, eh)
What do I do?
Oh…
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I tried keepin it tight, but I’m here in this bed.
I need to… (damn, damn!)
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I tried keepin it tight, but I’m here in this bed.
Again, I’m scared…
Again (One, two) Oh…
[Paul Wall:]
You got that ocean of soul, baby you super thick
And I’m the man of steel with skills, call me super dick
I got that technique, that keeps you comin’ back to back
And I know you feel it all in your stomach whenever you arch your back
(Yeah!) I’m a pull yo hair; (Yeah!) I know you love that
When I maneuver this tongue, your eyes roll back
I work them side angles; I’m a Kama Sutra pro
Kitchen table down to the flo, ass in the air while you bitin’ that pillow
Girl you know how I chop and screw
That’s what a diamond chip dick do
That’s what a diamond chip dick do
Oh my mind says, and my body says… something different…
(He got that thickness, the kind that make you get up makin’ biscuits with breakfast, so gone)
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I tried keepin it tight, but I’m here in this bed.
(He got that thickness, the kind that make you get up makin’ biscuits with breakfast, so gone)
Again
(He got that thickness, the kind that make you get up makin’ biscuits with breakfast, so gone)
Why does my body ignore what my mind says?
I tried keepin it tight, but I’m here in this bed.
Ahhh
I’m scared of this love…
He got that thickness, the kind that make you get up makin’ biscuits with breakfast, so gone
And I ain’t even thinkin’ bout the next chick, that he mess with, so reckless… so gone…

curly-lines

Joseph “Joe” Thomas

“More And More”
[Joe talking….]
Na Na Na (Baby)
Na Na Na (you got that look on your face)
Na Na Na (Like you wanna go all night)
Na Na (And I like that)
Oh Oh Na Na Na (I just want you to know that um..)
Na Na Na (I ain’t got no problem with that)
Na Na Na (just as long as we)
Na Na (go to the next level.)
[Verse 1:]
For as long as you’re willing girl,
Want you to know that I’m willing too.
And where you want me to go girl
I’ll be willing to go there for you.
If you want me to take my time
I’ll be willing to spend the night
All you gotta say is please stay Joe
And I’ll be staying as long as you saying…
[Chorus:]
More and More
(Then after that you want)
more and more
(And after that)
more and more
(Then after that)
more, more
(I hear you saying)
more and more
(Then after that you want)
more and more
(Then after that)
more and more
(Then after that)
more, more.
[Verse 2:]
If you want me to make your love come
I’ll be willing to do anything
Even if you want me to kiss places
I’ll be willing to make you scream.
Said I’m down for whatever you say
All you gotta do is speak your mind
Want me here Monday to Monday,
then baby girl its fine
As you screaming more..
[Repeat Chorus]
[Bridge:]
Girl we’ll be going,
from the bed to the floor baby
(then we’ll be going)
From the bedroom to the kitchen
(Then we’ll be going)
From the kitchen to the dining room
(Then straight to)
Straight to the living room
(I’ll be taking you up)
Taking you up the stairs baby
(I guarantee)
Guarantee I’m bout to drive you crazy.
We’ll be all over the house
As long as you screaming for me, saying give me more..
[Repeat Chorus (1 time)]
All the ladies sing with me..
Na Na Na
Na Na Na
Na Na Na
Na Na…
[repeat to fade]

 

“The Love Scene”
Yeah
Ooh…hoo…ooh…
Well, well, well, well, well, baby
Hoo…hoo…baby
Mmm…hmm…mmm…mmm…
Listen, baby
(Take one) Baby lyin’ on the bed
Exotic fantasies goin’ through her head
(Take two) I jump into my SL6
I gotta make my way to the crib mad quick
(Take three) I see my baby as I step inside
She’s staring at me with those bedroom eyes
(Take four) Honey sippin’ on some Chardonnay
The sex is even better when she’s feeling that way
All I want to do right now is love her down (Ooh)
I don’t give a damn about who hears the sound (Ooh…)
We’ll be in the groove until the sun comes up (Yeah)
Together we’ll get lost inside the love
Let’s make a love scene, steamy and blue
Erotic memories for an audience of two
And we’ll make a love scene, let the foreplay begin
And replay each moment again and again and again
(Take five) The Jacuzzi’s just ’bout ready for us
We step into the water and you tremble at my touch
(Take six) I see you gettin’ steamin’ hot
Girl, it ain’t just the bubbles that’s been hittin’ the spot
Take it off, take it off, take it off till you get enough
(Whoa…whoa…whoa…whoa…)
Anyway that you like, it’s okay, come and get my love
(Whoa…oh…ho…ho…yea…)
All I want to do right now is love her down (Love her down)
I don’t give a damn about who hears the sound (Hears a sound)
We’ll be in the groove until the sun comes up (Ooh…ooh…)
Together we’ll get lost inside the love (Oh, yeah)
Let’s make a love scene (Make a love scene), steamy and blue (Ooh)
Erotic memories for an audience of two
And we’ll make a love scene (We’ll make a love scene), let the foreplay begin (Oh…ho…)
And replay each moment (Mmm) again and again and again
Ooh, I’m gonna keep lovin’, I’m gonna keep lovin’ you, baby
(When the curtain drops) Oh
We won’t stop (We won’t stop), we won’t stop (Whoa…oh…baby)
Let’s make a love scene (Let’s make a love scene), steamy and blue
(See, I got what you want)
Erotic memories (You got what I need) for an audience of two (Of two)
And we’ll make a love scene (We’ll make a love scene), let the foreplay begin
(Ooh, baby)
And replay (Yeah) each moment (Oh, oh…) again and again and again
Girl, I’m down to take a sip from your cup (No, no, no, no, no, no, no)
If you drink from my fountain of love (Oh, ho)
Girl I’m down to take a sip from your cup (From your cup)
If you drink from my fountain of love (Ooh…ooh…oh…ho…)
’69 was a very good year (Do you remember, girl)
If you know what I mean, my dear (Ooh, baby)
’69 was a very good year (I could remember)
If you know what I mean, my dear (Let’s do it over and over again)
Let’s make a love scene (Let’s make a love scene)
Steamy and blue (Let’s do it on the floor)
Erotic memories for an audience of two (Anyway you like it, girl, alright)
And we’ll make a love scene (Alright)
curly-lines

 

Miguel “Miquel” Jontel Pimentel

“Coffee”
I wish I could paint our love
These moments and vibrant hues
Wordplay, turns into gun play
And gun play turns into pillow talk
And pillow talk turns into sweet dreams
Sweet dreams turns into coffee in the morning

We talk street art and sarcasm
Crass humor and high fashion
Peach color, moon glistens, the plot thickens
As we laugh over shot guns and tongue kisses
Bubble bath, Truth or Dare, and Would You Rather
A cold flame, the thrill of no shame
Drugs, sex, and polaroids
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye all night

I wish I could paint our love
These moments and vibrant hues
Wordplay, turns into gun play
And gun play turns into pillow talk
And pillow talk turns into sweet dreams
Sweet dreams turns into coffee in the morning

Coffee in the morning
I don’t wanna wake you
I just wanna watch you sleep
It’s the smell of your hair
And it’s the way that we feel
I’ve never felt comfortable like this

Old souls we found a new religion
Now I’m swimming in that sin, baptism
Peach colored skies we feel the sunrise
Two lost angels discover salvation
Don’t you wish we could runaway now? Yes, let’s
Drugs, sex, and polaroids
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye all night

Coffee in the morning
I don’t wanna wake you
I just wanna watch you sleep
It’s the smell of your hair
And it’s the way that we feel
I’ve never felt comfortable like this

Wordplay, turns into gun play
And gun play turns into pillow talk
And pillow talk turns into sweet dreams
Sweet dreams turns into coffee in the morning

Coffee in the morning
I don’t wanna wake you
I just wanna watch you sleep
It’s the smell of your hair
And it’s the way that we feel
I’ve never felt comfortable like this
[x2]

Old souls we found a new religion
Now I’m swimming in that sin, that’s baptism
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye
Old souls we found a new religion
Now I’m swimming in that sin, that’s baptism
Two lost angels discover salvation
Under glass pink skies watching the sunlight
(Coffee in the morning)
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye
(Coffee in the morning)
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye
(Coffee in the morning)
Old souls we found a new religion
Now I’m swimming in that sin, that’s baptism
(Coffee in the morning)
Pick a star in the sky
We could both say goodbye

 

“Arch N Point”
Yeah
Black leather skirt in a leopard printed shirt, whoa
We could skip dinner headed straight for dessert whoa, oho
But when it feels so good then it just come natural
Baby arch your back
And point your toes

Ballerina smart but your sex like art, whoa
They say rhythm is a talent that cannot be a taught whoa, oho
But when it feels so good then it just come natural
Baby arch your back and point your toes
Oh, you see I don’t suppose
Hmm that every good girl knows
Or that every bad girl knows
So baby arch your back
And point your toes yeah

Fish net, bottles and that birthday cake, whoa
Fetish is a pleasure that cannot be faked whoa oho
But when it feels this good then it just comes natural
Baby arch your back and point your toes

Oh, Polaroid flash baby anything goes
Feeling high don’t keep your eyes closed
‘Cause when it feels this good baby just come natural
Baby arch your
You know what to do
Yeah baby
You know I don’t suppose
Oh, that every good girl knows
Yeah, or that every bad girl knows
Say arch your back and point your toes yeah
Hmm Hmm
Baby arch your back and point your toes

curly-lines

Earlan “Alkaline” Bartley
 
“Spoil Yuh”
[Intro]
Well Well well well
Well well well well
Spoil you
Yellow moon, yellow moon
Yea Yea

Bounce fi me, bounce fi me nuh
Rest yuh standards pan the ground fi me nuh
Tek it off draw it down fi me nuh
Yah hear me

[Chorus]
Baby just mek me spoil you
Get yuh anything you like
Long as you alright then me alright
Me know yuh mad that’s why me like you
Two ah we mad alike
Plus yuh bumpa have the proper size
You back it up me deh behind you
Me slap it, it mek a noise
Snap a random picture she pretty pan any side
Mek me spoil you
Skin clean thick thighs
Plus she bright so me na have a choice
Well Well Well Well

[Verse 1]
Me dash weh money pan gyal everytime
Them kiss them teeth and pick up every dime
But me nuh know me nuh know
Me see something inna you
And me feel me fi follow me mind
God know a good woman so hard fi find
Them say them love you and tun round gi yuh dawg a shine
But baby that annuh you
Cuz any man you give the lovin haffi honor you
Spoil you but we annuh things friend
From me see yuh the first time
Wha touch yuh since then
Jah know
Yuh tight dress have me inna suspense
Me woulda mash up if you tell me seh we fi be just friends
God know
Really wha fi be the one fi mek yuh life happy
Give you yuh regular lovin
Travel the world, who fi stop we
Noone
Mother rate mi, brother, sister everybody
But the father don’t like cah him hear she call me daddy
Oh well

[Chrous]
Spoil you
Get yuh anything you like
Long as you alright then me alright
Me know yuh mad that’s why me like you
Two ah we mad alike
Plus yuh bumpa have the proper size
You back it up me deh behind you
Just fi watch you have a vibe
Snap a random picture she pretty pan any side
Mek me spoil you
Real man inna yuh life
Plus she bright so me na have a choice
Well Well Well Well

[Verse 2]
Glow my baby glow my baby
New man inna yuh life and it a show my baby
Whole heap a plans me have fi yuh my baby
Until me get me first born a you my baby
All that, yeah she all that
And she keep me calm so me never go off track
More than me girl me nuh know what fi call that
And me nuh see none a mi ex whey me woulda wha back
Whey yuh like?
Better yet, weh yuh love?
Too pretty fi tan inna house
Go, get yuh stuff
Under the moon light , just me and you
Strikers at a distance cah you know how di sitn go
And if you drop me pick you up
Me back you up and stick you up
Beat you with di lumber pan yuh flesh till you give up
Mek you feel special all year round
And a nuh only when yuh birthday come
Grab on pan me

[Chorus]
Baby just mek me spoil you
Get yuh anything you like
Long as you alright then me alright
Me know yuh mad that’s why me like you
Two ah we mad alike
Plus yuh bumpa have the proper size
You back it up me deh behind you
Me slap it, it mek a noise
Snap a random picture she pretty pan any side
Mek me spoil you
Skin clean thick thighs
Plus she bright so me na have a choice
Well Well Well Well

curly-lines

Adijah “Vybz Kartel” Palmer

“Me Fi a Dweet”
Chorus:
Girlfriend a mi fi a dweet, badman a tell yuh mi pre fi a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And yuh love trio suh mi a guh fi Cell Block from a tree fi a dweet
In har set TV a dweet, bed haffi sleep go pon knee we a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And if yuh love trio mi a guh fi Singer Blinger from a tree fi a dweet

Verse 1:
Mi love yuh excellent style, yuh pepsodent smile
Yuh get mi erectile, come mek we go mek child
Mek we, get wild tun away yuh next style
Mek mi stitch yuh like we do in clothing and text style
If yuh waan a man fi flashile and dashile
To get yuh high like yuh usin heroin or hashile
I have di real coppa coil fi put inna di vagile
Squeeze di nipple till di breast get fragile

Chorus:
Then girlfriend a mi fi a dweet, badman a tell yuh mi pre fi a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And yuh love trio suh mi a guh fi Cell Block from a tree fi a dweet
In har set TV a dweet, bed haffi sleep go pon knee we a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And if yuh love trio mi a guh fi Singer Blinger from a tree fi a dweet

Verse 2:
Cut yuh speed and pause, for a worthy cause
Mek mi teach yuh love rules, and good f**k laws
If mi touch yuh di right way yuh cum inna yuh draws
Mi f**k yuh mek yuh worship mi body and mi all
Mi nah guh let yuh dung like Niagara Falls
Mi will return di text then answer all di calls
Oonu, see seh mi love yuh blinda than Ray Charles
Dem badmind di flex just because

Chorus:
Girlfriend a mi fi a dweet, badman a tell yuh mi pre fi a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And yuh love trio suh mi a guh fi Cell Block from a tree fi a dweet
In har set TV a dweet, bed haffi sleep go pon knee we a dweet
Yuh shy, a when dem caan see we a dweet
And if yuh love trio mi a guh fi Singer Blinger from a tree fi a dweet

Let me know what you think?
As always
Happy Reading,
cropped-slipperyvowels-sig-3-edited1.png
Source:
Leave a Reply

