Poetry Thursday – Week 8

I did not know who to feature this week.  I tried to find a contemporary poet but fell short at every turn.  I decided to speak to a friend to see if he would be able to assist with who I should feature.  As always, he did not disappoint.
From the little I was able to read, I loved her work and I am pleased to share it with you as well.  Her name is Nayyirah Waheed.
Nayyirah Waheed is a U.S. based writer who has grown in her work tremendously.
Her work in Salt is a journey through warmth and sharpness. This collection of poetry explores the realities of multiple identities, language, diasporic life & pain, the self, community, healing, celebration, and love.
I so enjoyed her work that it was difficult to chose the ones I wanted to highlight.  They were all so good.  Thought-Bubble-PNG-File.png maybe i should get this book for my collection.
Here is a look at her work, most of which are from Salt….
curly-lines
i will tell you, my daughter
of your worth
not your beauty
everyday. (your beauty is a given, every being is born beautiful).
Knowing your worth
can save your life.
raising you on beauty alone
you will be starved.
you will be raw.
you will be weak.
an easy stomach.
always in need of someone telling you how
beautiful you are.
                      – emotional nutrition
                                Salt
separater
there is you and you.
this is  a relationship.
this is the most important realationship
                       – home
separater
You
see your face.
You
see a flaw.
how. if you are the only one who has this face.
                       – the beauty construct
separater
 Someone can be madly in love with you
and still not be ready.
They can love you in a way you have never been loved and still not join you on the bridge.
And whatever their reasons you must leave.
Because you never ever have to inspire anyone to meet
you on the bridge.
You never ever have to convince someone to do the work to be ready.
There is more extraordinary love, more love that you have never seen,
out here in this wide and wild universe.
And there is the love that will be ready.
                          -something to tell
                                            Salt
separater
What
massacre
happens to my son
between
him
living within my skin.
drinking my cells
my water.
my organs,
and
his soft psyche turning cruel.
does he not remember
he
is half woman.
              – from
separater
i am relieved
when
i see the feminine presence
in a man’s eyes.
it means
he is a piece
i do not
have
to bring to him.
            -ease
separater
you can not
remain
a
war
between
what you want to say (who you really are)
and
what you should say (who you pretend to be)
your mouth was not designed to eat itself.
               – split
separater
You
not wanting me.
was
the beginning of me.
wanting myself.
thank you.
         – The Hurt
Enjoy them!!!

If I get the book I will be sure to tell you.
As always,
Happy Reading
cropped-slipperyvowels-sig-3-edited1.png
Sources:
Leave a Reply

