Wednesday Words – Week 6

I don’t usually consider myself a nerd….yes, I read a lot and love to learn new things and create, but I never believed myself to be a nerd.  Until I caught myself reading the Oxford Dictionary.

What I found were some unusual words that I want to share with you.  Here we go:

AA (n.)

[/ˈɑːɑː/]

  • a kind of volcanic lava that forms jagged masses with a light frothy texture

separater

ENTOMOPHAGY (n.)

[/ˌɛntəˈmɒfədʒi/]

  • the eating of insects, especially by people

separater

ETUI (n.)

[/ɛˈtwiː/]

  • a small ornamental case for holding needles, cosmetics, and other articles

separater

ONOLATRY (n.)

[/əʊˈnɒlətri/]

  • the worship of donkeys or asses

separater

WITTOL (n.)

[/ˈwɪt(ə)l/]

  • A man who is aware and tolerant of his wife’s infidelity; an acquiescent cuckold.

separater

BLATHERSKITE (n.)

[/ˈblaðəskʌɪt/]

  • A person who talks at great length without making much sense.

Interesting words there…..how can you use one in a sentence?  Are you able to try?

Lets see what I can do….. “Anni, do you know what ONOLATRY means?”

Let me see your sentence…girl-smiley-face

as always, Happy Reading

cropped-slipperyvowels-sig-3-edited1.png

Source:

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/explore/weird-and-wonderful-words

Leave a Reply

