REVIEW: HOLDING YOU SERIES BY JEWEL E. ANN

rating-edited.png.png

5SPOILERS INCLUDED!!!!

(REVIEWS FOR BOTH HOLDING YOU AND RELEASING ME)

This one I have to do as a single post, because for me it was just one story that the author split in two (to frustrate me into thinking the second part was not yet written and then upon finding the second part – doing the dance; I am ecstatic that I did…wouldn’t want to get too angry at the author).

The passion, the love, the intimacy, the intercourse, the relationship, the friendship… Where do I end?

Holding You series by Jewel E. Ann was quiet a surprise.  I started it because of the cover –  no other reason. I had it for some time on my kindle but kept over-looking it.  But on Friday when I was looking for something new to “catch my eye”, this jumped out…and I am glad I started it.

It was beautifully written and the characters were extremely realistic and close to home. The plot was awesome. It was obvious that the author put all her emotions in this one; I had to wonder at one point if I was actually reading her story.  She had me on the edge of my seat and in tears.

Addy was a beautiful, lovable character to read and interact with.  You couldn’t not love her and take her side in every argument.  Her strength was unbelievable and it could only take a woman like her to be with Quinn.    She was wayyyyyyyy too brilliant –  photographic memory, 5 languages, PhD. , billionaire, yogi, vegan, compassionate – and try as I might, I couldn’t find an instant where I expected her to know better, or felt she needed a reprimand.  Maybe because I understood how depression can cripple you even if you are brilliant. You don’t always find all of these characteristics in a woman; so it was refreshing to see this change.

One thing I appreciated about this was a woman being in the wrong and suffering and have to fight to get the man back.  Most novels like this usually have the men as the “bad” guy and suffering to get back the woman, and refusing to leave her front door and just sticking around and fighting.

Quinn was sooooo yummy.  Author descriptions are the best and once an author describes someone as good as she did Quinn, you could only love him.  He did let me down one or two times but that’s the thing with love and growing into it.

I couldn’t help it….I had to highlight my favorite bits.  Here are the bits that spoke to me.  Many of them were from the heart and some even made me shed a tear.

FROM BOOK ONE – HOLDING YOU

“Love is the answer, but while you are waiting for the answer, sex raises some pretty good questions.” – Woody Allen

“He searched my eyes, but he was looking through them into someplace in me that was deeper.  It made me nervous, and scared.  The unwelcome vulnerability shook me to the core.”

“Cradling my jaw in his hands, he grazed his lips and nose across my cheek from my ear to my lips.  He pulled back and rested his forehead on mine as he breathed out.   “My God, you’re so beautiful.””

I closed my eyes and felt his thumb brush my bottom lip.   My sigh came out as a needy whimper.  Then, gliding his mouth back to my ear, he sucked my ear lobe into his mouth and grazed it with his tgeeth. Releasing it he whispered, “Goodnight, Addy.”

“I can’t…I can’t look at you.”   My voice was shaky, my body rigid, and tears were threatening my eyes.  We were silent for what felt like an eternity.  “Then don’t.  Just close your eyes.  Don’t think, just feel…with your body, not your heart.  Just close your eyes, just for tonight, just for this moment, and just… feel.”

“What do you want me to say?  That everything about you drives me crazy.  Your smart mouth, sassy attitude, your mesmerizing blue eyes that make me feel like I’m lost in the ocean, your insanely sexy body, your passion for helping others, or that being with you makes me question everything I thought I wanted in life?”

“Fate controls who walks into your life, but you decide who you let walk out, who you let stay, and who you refuse to let go.” – Unknown

“Sin ti no puedo respirar. Te necesito enmi vida.”  (Without you I cannot breathe.  I need you in my life.)

“Tu eres mi luz en oscuridad. Tu eres la mujer mas bella que he visto.”  (You are my light in the dark.  You are the most beautiful woman I have ever seen).

“Te amo”.  I love you.

“I’m going to be with you for however long I’m going to be with you, regardless of whether or not we’re married.  I don’t want to belong to you, I want to belong with you.  I don’t need a paper certificate that makes it hard to leave; I need a love that makes it easy to stay.”

FROM BOOK TWO – RELEASING ME

“It’s fine, Quinn.  I know how it feels to have everything in your life falling apart around you.  I know how it feels to desperately need someone to take the blame … take the pain”….”I never found that person and so I just lived with the pain.  But I … I love you.”…”So I’ll take it from you.  I’ll take the blame.  I’ll take your pain.”

“She was broken when I met her, and I should have been her rock of support, but instead I was the rock that continued to crush her over and over again.  I tried to let her go.  She deserved someone better than me.   But I needed her too much.  She was giving and nurturing.  Above all, she loved me … she truly, no-holds-barred, one hundred percent loved me.”

This last set was short.  I think because half the time I was in tears.

Sooo, sooo many quotes the yummy was just out and about.

Would I recommend this book to another reader??? Already did ..

If you are looking for hot sex, a little heartache but a good overall ending …this is definately the book for you.  You will enjoy every bit of it!!!.

 

as always, Happy Reading

cropped-slipperyvowels-sig-3-edited1.png

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

